The Shepherd’s Prayer – My Take

Felt the Spirit’s call to take a closer look at the Shepherd’s Prayer. I don’t want to dissect this, just to reframe – restate this simple prayer. Let’s look at the KJV and the YLT versions. Then I’ll attempt to select/refine the best translations available. This is not an effort to improve any translation, just guided dig into this more deeply.

KJV Ps 23:1-6

1 The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.

2 He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters.

3 He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.

4 Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me.

5 Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over.

6 Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the Lord for ever.

YLT Ps 23:1-6

1 A Psalm of David. Jehovah [is] my shepherd, I do not lack,

2 In pastures of tender grass He causeth me to lie down, By quiet waters He doth lead me.

3 My soul He refresheth, He leadeth me in paths of righteousness, For His name’s sake,

4 Also — when I walk in a valley of death-shade, I fear no evil, for Thou [art] with me, Thy rod and Thy staff — they comfort me.

5 Thou arrangest before me a table, Over-against my adversaries, Thou hast anointed with oil my head, My cup is full!

6 Only — goodness and kindness pursue me, All the days of my life, And my dwelling [is] in the house of Jehovah, For a length of days!

My “synergy”: APE stands for Aramaic in Plain English, GE stands for my revision

ISV Ps 23:1 The LORD is the one who is shepherding me; I lack nothing.

GE Ps 23:2 He shows me the way to his blessing, to find true peace and quiet rest.

GWT Ps 23:3 He renews my soul. He guides me along the paths of righteousness for the sake of his name.

GWT Ps 23:4 Even though I walk through the dark valley of death, because you are with me, I fear no harm. Your rod[of correction] and your staff[of guidance] give me courage

YLT Ps 23:5 Thou arrangest before me a table, Over-against my adversaries, Thou hast anointed with oil my head, My cup is full!

APE Ps 23:6 Your kindness and your mercies pursue me all the days of my life, that I may dwell in the house of Lord Jehovah to the length of days.

Reader Version: Ps 23:1-6

1The LORD is the one who is shepherding me so I lack nothing.

2 He shows me the way to his blessing, to find true peace and quiet rest.

3 He renews my soul. He guides me along the paths of righteousness for the sake of his name.

4 Even though I walk through the dark valley of death, because you are with me, I fear no harm. Your rod [of correction] and your staff[of guidance] give me courage

5 You arrange a table before me, against my adversaries, you anointed my head with oil, My cup is full!

6 Your kindness and your mercies pursue me all the days of my life, that I may dwell in the house of Lord Jehovah to the end of this age.

Dear God,

Please help us to see thru the mirror, to follow you into all truth. Pls remove the veil that blinds us so that we can truly serve and follow you. Help us know you in Spirit and in Truth! Amen,

Glenn

All Articles

The Shepherd’s Prayer- My Take

The Shepherd’s Prayer- My Take

The Shepherd’s Prayer- My Take

The Shepherd’s Prayer- My Tak

P.S. E

1 When we follow The LORD we lack nothing. 2 He shows me the way to his blessing, to find true peace and quiet rest. 3 He renews my soul. He guides me along the paths of righteousness for the sake of his name.

4 Even though I walk through this earthly, dark valley of death, I fear no harm because you are with me,. Your rod [of correction] and your staff[of guidance] give me courage. 5 You have arranged a table before me, against my adversaries, you restore and anointed my head with oil, My cup overflows!!!

6 Your kindness and your mercies pursue me all the days of my life, that I may dwell in the house of Lord Jehovah to the end of this age.

About this entry