God Chooses Where We Live

The passage that talks about God choosing where we live is one of my favorite passages. It speaks to the power of our God. Here is that passage:

NIV Act 17:26-31

26 From one man he made every nation of men, that they should inhabit the whole earth; and he determined the times set for them and the exact places where they should live. 27 God did this so that men would seek him and perhaps reach out for him and find him, though he is not far from each one of us. 28 ‘For in him we live and move and have our being. ’ As some of your own poets have said, ‘We are his offspring. ’

29 “Therefore since we are God’s offspring, we should not think that the divine being is like gold or silver or stone–an image made by man’s design and skill. 30 In the past God overlooked such ignorance, but now he commands all people everywhere to repent. 31 For he has set a day when he will judge the world with justice by the man he has appointed. He has given proof of this to all men by raising him from the dead.”

Although this sounds like it limits the nations of men, the times and extends of their rule, and the limits of their borders, I now see this saying that God set out all my days before I was born, where I would live each day!! This psalm declares that God wrote every day of our lives before we were born!!

Psa 139:13-18

13 You made all the delicate, inner parts of my body

and knit me together in my mother’s womb.

14 Thank you for making me so wonderfully complex!

Your workmanship is marvelous—how well I know it.

15 You watched me as I was being formed in utter seclusion,

as I was woven together in the dark of the womb.

16 You saw me before I was born.

Every day of my life was recorded in your book.

Every moment was laid out

before a single day had passed.

17 How precious are your thoughts about me, O God.

They cannot be numbered!

18 I can’t even count them;

they outnumber the grains of sand!

And when I wake up,

you are still with me!

I used to think that my human choices somehow trumped the will of God. I worshiped the God of Human Choice, I Worshiped the Wrong God . The truth is that God gives up our thoughts, that he determines our steps. Take a look at these passages.

God Gives Us Our Thoughts!

ESV AMOS 4:13 For behold, he who forms the mountains and creates the wind, and declares to man what is his thought, who makes the morning darkness, and treads on the heights of the earth— the LORD, the God of hosts, is his name!

God declares to man what his thought is! Denying that God gives us our thoughts so completely distorts our perception of who God is, it means that we worship the wrong God!  [see link above]

ASV Ezek 38:10 Thus saith the Lord Jehovah: It shall come to pass in that day, that things shall come into thy mind, and thou shalt devise an evil device:

YLT Proverbs 16:1 Of man are arrangements of the heart, And from Jehovah an answer of the tongue.

YLT Proverbs 16:9 The heart of man deviseth his way, And Jehovah establisheth his step.

GWT Jeremiah 10:23 O LORD, I know that the way humans act is not under their control. Humans do not direct their steps as they walk.

KJV Prov 20:24 Man’s goings[steps] are of the LORD; how can a man then understand his own way?

GWT Prov 21:1 The king’s heart is like streams of water. Both are under the LORD’s control. He turns them in any direction he chooses.

GWT Exodus 4:11 The LORD asked him, “Who gave humans their mouths? Who makes humans unable to talk or hear? Who gives them sight or makes them blind? It is I, the LORD!

If we insist on saying that our omnipotent God bows to the free will of man, God allows us to continue in our delusion. God wants us to come to him in Spirit and in Truth, but he will no take away our idols!

KJV Ezekiel 14:4

Therefore speak unto them, and say unto them, Thus says the Lord GOD; Every man of the house of Israel that sets up his idols in his heart, and puts the stumblingblock of his iniquity before his face, and comes to the prophet; I the LORD will answer him that comes according to the multitude of his idols;

This idol of “free will” says the omnipotent God who created me must bow down to to my free will! How silly and egotistical!!

Dear God,

Help us to see how high your ways are above our ways, to appreciate your ultimate power, your glory, and your righteousness. You made us as marred vessels. Please remake us, help us to be clay in your hands, to serve others, to love, to forgive, and to consider others greater. Deliver us from our blindness, from our deafness, giving us eyes to see and ears to hear, allowing you to cleanse and to save us!! Amen

Glenn

God Chooses Where We Live

God Chooses Where We LiveGod Chooses Where We Live

God Chooses Where We Live

All Articles

P.S. Those Whom God has put together, let no man put asunder

Mat 19:3-7

3 The Pharisees also came unto him, tempting him, and saying unto him, Is it lawful for a man to put away his wife for every cause? 4 And he answered and said unto them, Have ye not read, that he which made them at the beginning made them male and female, 5 And said, For this cause shall a man leave father and mother, and shall cleave to his wife: and they twain shall be one flesh? 6 Wherefore they are no more twain, but one flesh. What therefore God hath joined together, let not man put asunder.

Yes God chooses our Spouse! Some might say that after we promise and agree to take each other as our lawfully wedded spouse, from this point on, God has joined us, but I think this happens much sooner!!

About this entry