Being Born Again: Recognizing The Son of Perdition And Abomination

Have you been born again? Have you turned from doing evil to seeing and doing God’s will? Don’t make the same mistake that I made. I was certain I was born again, but I was still a son of perdition, I was still serving under the abomination that causes desecration! Let’s investigate this being born again.

NLT John 3:3-21

3 Jesus replied, “I tell you the truth, unless you are born again, you cannot see the Kingdom of God.”

4 “What do you mean?” exclaimed Nicodemus. “How can an old man go back into his mother’s womb and be born again?”

5 Jesus replied, “I assure you, no one can enter the Kingdom of God without being born of water and the Spirit. 6 Humans can reproduce only human life, but the Holy Spirit gives birth to spiritual life. 7 So don’t be surprised when I say, ‘You must be born again.’ 8 The wind blows wherever it wants. Just as you can hear the wind but can’t tell where it comes from or where it is going, so you can’t explain how people are born of the Spirit.”

9 “How are these things possible?” Nicodemus asked.

10 Jesus replied, “You are a respected Jewish teacher, and yet you don’t understand these things? 11 I assure you, we tell you what we know and have seen, and yet you won’t believe our testimony. 12 But if you don’t believe me when I tell you about earthly things, how can you possibly believe if I tell you about heavenly things? 13 No one has ever gone to heaven and returned. But the Son of Man has come down from heaven. 14 And as Moses lifted up the bronze snake on a pole in the wilderness, so the Son of Man must be lifted up, 15 so that everyone who believes in him will have eternal life.

16 “For God loved the world so much that he gave his one and only Son, so that everyone who believes in him will not perish but have eternal life. 17 God sent his Son into the world not to judge the world, but to save the world through him.

18 “There is no judgment against anyone who believes in him. But anyone who does not believe in him has already been judged for not believing in God’s one and only Son. 19 And the judgment is based on this fact: God’s light came into the world, but people loved the darkness more than the light, for their actions were evil. 20 All who do evil hate the light and refuse to go near it for fear their sins will be exposed. 21 But those who do what is right come to the light so others can see that they are doing what God wants.”

So those who have this light from the Holy Spirit in them seek the light so others can see that they do what God wants [vs 21]. This being born of the spirit is not something that men can teach men. This is a gift of God so that no one can boast.    So That No Man Can Boast – None “Chose To Follow God”!!!

Looking at Vs 8 again in the KJV

KJV John 3:8The wind bloweth where it listeth, and thou hearest the sound thereof, but canst not tell whence it cometh, and whither it goeth: so is every one that is born of the Spirit.

It is God’s prerogative who gets this gift, being born again of the Holy Spirit. I believe that this next passage describes this gift this revelation is – the understanding and recognition of this man of sin.

NLT 2 Th 2:7-14

7 For this lawlessness is already at work secretly, and it will remain secret until the one who is holding it back steps out of the way[The man of lawlessness was reveled to me when I was born again]. 8 Then the man of lawlessness will be revealed, but the Lord Jesus will kill him with the breath of his mouth and destroy him by the splendor of his coming.

9 This man will come to do the work of Satan with counterfeit power and signs and miracles. 10 He will use every kind of evil deception to fool those on their way to destruction, because they refuse to love and accept the truth that would save them. 11 So God will cause them to be greatly deceived, and they will believe these lies. 12 Then they will be condemned for enjoying evil rather than believing the truth.

This man of lawlessness has been at work since Paul spoke these words, but God has been holding back the truth so that folks do not recognize him. We are all born sons of perdition.  This continues until, Lord willing, we are chosen.  When we are chosen we see that we have been beasts, trying in our fallen flesh to do good.  All these prior efforts of the flesh are filthy rags. The gift of the Holy Spirit comes with the gift of a new heart!  

NLT Ez 36:22-30

22“Therefore, give the people of Israel this message from the Sovereign LORD: I am bringing you back, but not because you deserve it. I am doing it to protect my holy name, on which you brought shame while you were scattered among the nations. 23I will show how holy my great name is—the name on which you brought shame among the nations. And when I reveal my holiness through you before their very eyes, says the Sovereign LORD, then the nations will know that I am the LORD. 24For I will gather you up from all the nations and bring you home again to your land.

25“Then I will sprinkle clean water on you, and you will be clean. Your filth will be washed away, and you will no longer worship idols. 26And I will give you a new heart, and I will put a new spirit in you. I will take out your stony, stubborn heart and give you a tender, responsive heart.b 27And I will put my Spirit in you so that you will follow my decrees and be careful to obey my regulations.

28“And you will live in Israel, the land I gave your ancestors long ago. You will be my people, and I will be your God. 29I will cleanse you of your filthy behavior. I will give you good crops of grain, and I will send no more famines on the land. 30I will give you great harvests from your fruit trees and fields, and never again will the surrounding nations be able to scoff at your land for its famines. 31Then you will remember your past sins and despise yourselves for all the detestable things you did. 32But remember, says the Sovereign LORD, I am not doing this because you deserve it. O my people of Israel, you should be utterly ashamed of all you have done!

Not many years ago I too was greatly deceived, and under this strong delusion. I believed the lies. I believed my service to the church was really service to God until the one who was holding the truth back stepped out of the way[vs 7]. God held back the truth from me until he chose me, until he removed that stony heart and gave me a responsive heart of flesh.  Only then was I shown that I was this  man of lawlessness, the son of perdition, and that my self-righteousness was filthy rags. We are all born into this world as sons of perdition.  Only when God gives us these new hearts and the Holy Spirit can we see his power, his glory, and our filth.  Only then are we born again. 

Dear God,

May your will be done!  Help the Laodiceans to see their self-righteousness and bring them out of Babylon,  to recognize their blindness and your power.  We trust that your  kingdom will come on earth as it is in Heaven, Amen.

Glenn

Article List

Have You Been Born Again?

Have You Been Born Again?

Have You Been Born Again?

Have You Been Born Again?

About this entry