The Believer’s Purpose

We are called to seek only God’s approval, but we so easily fall into seeking the approval of men. I so much want the number of views on the web page to grow. If my motivation behind that is pure, desiring God to be glorified, not seeking glory for myself, not desiring others to think well of me, I’ll be OK.

If, however, I am seeking the approval of men, desiring my own glory the Bible is clear, I am no longer seeking the approval of God- no longer his servant!

GWT Gal 1:10 Am I saying this now to win the approval of people or God? Am I trying to please people? If I were still trying to please people, I would not be Christ’s servant.

11 I want you to know, brothers and sisters, that the Good News I have spread is not a human message. 12 I didn’t receive it from any person. I wasn’t taught it, but Jesus Christ revealed it to me.

13 You heard about the way I once lived when I followed the Jewish religion. You heard how I violently persecuted God’s church and tried to destroy it. 14 You also heard how I was far ahead of other Jews in my age group in following the Jewish religion. I had become that fanatical for the traditions of my ancestors. 15 But God, who appointed me before I was born and who called me by his kindness, was pleased 16 to show me his Son. He did this so that I would tell people who are not Jewish that his Son is the Good News. When this happened, I didn’t talk it over with any other person. 17 I didn’t even go to Jerusalem to see those who were apostles before I was. Instead, I went to Arabia and then came back to Damascus.’

Paul spells this out for us in vs 10; if we a trying to please people we are not God’s servant! Think about that for a minute. It says that Christ’s servants are not trying to please people. If we seek recognition, approval, even the respect of people we are not serving God. God needs servants who are devoted completely to him, who are seeking him with all their hearts, mind, and strength, who are seeking only God’s glory, who are sacrificing their lives in their struggle against sin, who are carrying their cross, and  Following The Spirit’s Leading In Every Part Of Our Lives

GWT Gal 6:7 Make no mistake about this: You can never make a fool out of God. Whatever you plant is what you’ll harvest. 8 If you plant in the soil of your corrupt nature, you will harvest destruction. But if you plant in the soil of your spiritual nature, you will harvest everlasting life. 9 We can’t allow ourselves to get tired of living the right way. Certainly, each of us will receive everlasting life at the proper time, if we don’t give up. 10 Whenever we have the opportunity, we have to do what is good for everyone, especially for the family of believers.

11 Look at how large the letters in these words are because I’m writing this myself. 12 These people who want to make a big deal out of a physical thing are trying to force you to be circumcised. Their only aim is to avoid persecution because of the cross of Christ. 13 It’s clear that not even those who had themselves circumcised did this to follow Jewish laws. Yet, they want you to be circumcised so that they can brag about what was done to your body. 14 But it’s unthinkable that I could ever brag about anything except the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ. By his cross my relationship to the world and its relationship to me have been crucified. 15 Certainly, it doesn’t matter whether a person is circumcised or not. Rather, what matters is being a new creation. 16 Peace and mercy will come to rest on all those who conform to this principle. They are the Israel of God.

We are either feeding corruption or spiritual purity. If we plant in the soil of our corrupt nature we harvest destruction.  If we are following our selfish desires, then we are not seeking only God’s glory.  This distinction ultimately determines our fate. If we continue to feed our spiritual nature, living in the right way, doing good for everyone especially the family of believers, we will live. But if we feed our corrupt selfish nature we will get tired of living the right way and harvest destruction!

Its really pretty simple. Selfishness, jealousy, greed and self ambition are bad and lead us astray. Service, encouraging others, sharing and humility are good and pull us towards God.

Dear God,

Help us to understand and embrace our biblical purpose, to bring you glory. Turn us from self ambition, from seeking our own glory and from seeking the approval of men. Help us to recognize that these glory seekers are not seeking you.  In Jesus name we pray, Amen.

Glenn

All Articles

The Believers Purpose

The Believers Purpose

The Believers Purpose

The Believers Purpose

About this entry