Following Men’s Religions Spoils Your Soul

 

Man’s Definition of Religion (Wikipedia)

Religion: a system of human thought which usually includes a set of narratives, symbols, beliefs and practices that give meaning to the practitioner’s experiences of life through reference to a higher power, deity or deities, or ultimate truth.[1] Religion is commonly identified by the practitioner’s prayer, ritual, meditation, music and art, among other things, but more generally is interwoven with society and politics. It may focus on specific supernatural, metaphysical, and moral claims about reality (the cosmos and human nature) which may yield a set of religious laws, ethics, and a particular lifestyle. Religion also encompasses ancestral or cultural traditions, writings, history, and mythology, as well as personal faith and religious experience… Religion is also often described as a “way of life” or a life stance.

 

 

God’s Definition of Religion

NLT Jam 1:25 But if you look carefully into the perfect law that sets you free, and if you do what it says and don’t forget what you heard, then God will bless you for doing it. 26 If you claim to be religious but don’t control your tongue, you are fooling yourself, and your religion is worthless. 27 Pure and genuine religion in the sight of God the Father means caring for orphans and widows in their distress and refusing to let the world corrupt you.

 

 

Comparison:

God’s defines religion to be caring for orphans and widows in their distress and refusing to let the world corrupt you. Man defines religion as a system of human thought symbols, beliefs and practices that give meaning to life through a higher power, deity or deities, or ultimate truth. The only religion that is pure and genuine, the only system of thought beliefs and practices that actually give meaning to life are helping the weak and poor and refusing to let the world corrupt you.

 

God is telling us that Christianity is not a system of thoughts beliefs and practices. When men try to reduce following the Spirit of God to this level they dishonor God. Let’s look at passages that declare that the Holy Spirit leads us into all truth.

 

NLT John 14:15-18 Jesus Promises the Holy Spirit

15 “If you love me, obey my commandments. 16 And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another Advocate, who will never leave you. 17 He is the Holy Spirit, who leads into all truth. The world cannot receive him, because it isn’t looking for him and doesn’t recognize him. But you know him, because he lives with you now and later will be in you. 18 No, I will not abandon you as orphans—I will come to you. 19 Soon the world will no longer see me, but you will see me. Since I live, you also will live.

 

Other passages talk about seeking God with all our hearts and crying out for pure spiritual milk. I don’t think this passage is saying that we need to be perfect followers the 10 commandments before Jesus will give us his Holy Spirit, but I do think that we need to be really seeking God, loving him with our heart mind and strength and loving others as ourselves before he can deliver us from our Lukewarm Churches and our Our Dangerous False Teachers.

 

NLT John 16:5-15 The Work of the Holy Spirit

5 “But now I am going away to the One who sent me, and not one of you is asking where I am going. 6 Instead, you grieve because of what I’ve told you. 7 But in fact, it is best for you that I go away, because if I don’t, the Advocate won’t come. If I do go away, then I will send him to you. 8 And when he comes, he will convict the world of its sin, and of God’s righteousness, and of the coming judgment. 9 The world’s sin is that it refuses to believe in me. 10 Righteousness is available because I go to the Father, and you will see me no more. 11 Judgment will come because the ruler of this world has already been judged.

12 “There is so much more I want to tell you, but you can’t bear it now. 13 When the Spirit of truth comes, he will guide you into all truth. He will not speak on his own but will tell you what he has heard. He will tell you about the future. 14 He will bring me glory by telling you whatever he receives from me. 15 All that belongs to the Father is mine; this is why I said, ‘The Spirit will tell you whatever he receives from me.’

 

The Holy Spirit will guide us into all truth, telling us about the future, relaying any messages and guidance that Jesus has for us.

 

NLT John15: 26 “But I will send you the Advocate—the Spirit of truth. He will come to you from the Father and will testify all about me. 27 And you must also testify about me because you have been with me from the beginning of my ministry.

 

Those who think that Christianity is primarily a set of thoughts beliefs and practices can not truly honor God. They Deny God By The Way They Live. Christianity is Living By The Power Of God, and Following The Spirit’s Leading In Every Part Of Our Lives. It is not a set of formulas or practices. It is not a weekly performance. It just authentic followers of Christ who worship God in Spirit and in Truth. These Christ followers gather together, seeking and sharing the Lord as equals (not as Pastor – Pewsitter) in Real Communion Services.

 

Dear God,

Help us to grasp that following you has nothing to do with men’s religion. Please deliver us from all our human attempts at religion, and help us to understand that genuine religion is simply helping the weak and poor and staying pure. Help us to be the new creation in Christ, to simply seek and follow you. In Jesus mighty name we pray, Amen.

Glenn

 

All Articles

 

Following Men’s Religions Spoils Your Soul.

Following Men’s Religions Spoils Your Soul.

Following Men’s Religions Spoils Your Soul.

Following Men’s Religions Spoils Your Soul.

 

 

About this entry