Will Solomon Make It To Heaven?

God has recently given me eyes to see that this is a very poorly worded question.  Jesus came to save all men especially those who believe!!   [YLT 1 Timothy 4:10″for for this we both labour and are reproached, because we hope on the living God, who is Saviour of all men — especially of those believing.”].  I used to think that Solomon would not make it to heaven, but now see that all will eventually experience our day of the Lord.  Even though  Solomon disobeyed God’s warning not to worship other gods[twice], and his wives turned turned his heart away from the Lord, he would still be saved, grace wins for all in the end.  Solomon’s disobedience cost him the reward of the prophet, the Kingdom of God, and the reward of the righteous, the Kingdom of Heaven, but he will still be found in the promised land, on Mt Zion.   [Please read the Post Script at the end of this article.  Although the idea of an eternal hell predominates the teachings of organized Christianity, I now see the error of this doctrine]

Solomon ‘s Many Wives

1 Kings 11;1 Now King Solomon loved many foreign women. Besides Pharaoh’s daughter, he married women from Moab, Ammon, Edom, Sidon, and from among the Hittites. 2 The LORD had clearly instructed the people of Israel, ‘You must not marry them, because they will turn your hearts to their gods.’ Yet Solomon insisted on loving them anyway. 3 He had 700 wives of royal birth and 300 concubines. And in fact, they did turn his heart away from the LORD. 4 In Solomon ‘s old age, they turned his heart to worship other gods instead of being completely faithful to the LORD his God, as his father, David, had been. 5 Solomon worshiped Ashtoreth, the goddess of the Sidonians, and Molech, the detestable god of the Ammonites. 6 In this way, Solomon did what was evil in the LORD’s sight; he refused to follow the LORD completely, as his father, David, had done. 7 On the Mount of Olives, east of Jerusalem, he even built a pagan shrine for Chemosh, the detestable god of Moab, and another for Molech, the detestable god of the Ammonites. 8 Solomon built such shrines for all his foreign wives to use for burning incense and sacrificing to their gods. 9 The LORD was very angry with Solomon, for his heart had turned away from the LORD, the God of Israel, who had appeared to him twice. 10 He had warned Solomon specifically about worshiping other gods, but Solomon did not listen to the LORD’s command. 11 So now the LORD said to him, “Since you have not kept my covenant and have disobeyed my decrees, I will surely tear the kingdom away from you and give it to one of your servants. 12 But for the sake of your father, David, I will not do this while you are still alive. I will take the kingdom away from your son. 13 And even so, I will not take away the entire kingdom; I will let him be king of one tribe, for the sake of my servant David and for the sake of Jerusalem, my chosen city.”  14 Then the LORD raised up Hadad the Edomite, a member of Edom’s royal family, to be Solomon ‘s adversary. …

This passage goes on to explain about adversaries that God placed in Solomon’s path. I think this was to slow him down and to try to get him to turn back to God.

 The parable of the Vineyard Workers tells us that God is concerned about how we finish, not how we start.[Matt 20;1-16] Although Solomon had a very strong start his heart was turned away from the Lord.   God doesn’t place perfect obedience as his requirement, but he does require a greater righteousness than the self righteous teachers of the law.

NLT Matt 5: 17 “Don’t misunderstand why I have come. I did not come to abolish the law of Moses or the writings of the prophets. No, I came to accomplish their purpose. 18 I tell you the truth, until heaven and earth disappear, not even the smallest detail of God’s law will disappear until its purpose is achieved. 19 So if you ignore the least commandment and teach others to do the same, you will be called the least in the Kingdom of Heaven. But anyone who obeys God’s laws and teaches them will be called great in the Kingdom of Heaven. 20 “But I warn you—unless your righteousness is better than the righteousness of the teachers of religious law and the Pharisees, you will never enter the Kingdom of Heaven!

Solomon in all his wisdom was not able to grasp this. As we read thru Ecclesiastes we see that Solomon’s attempts to come to God in these later days always relied heavily on Human wisdom, not simple faith. He was not able to become the humble seeker, the  new creation in Christ. Perhaps this was inevitable. The Bible declares that earthly wisdom is foolishness to God and that no one would know him thru human wisdom! This passage seems to indicate that relying on human wisdom actually makes it harder for us to know and follow God.  Two Types Of Wisdom

The Wisdom of God

NLT 1 Cor 1:18 The message of the cross is foolish to those who are headed for destruction! But we who are being saved know it is the very power of God. 19 As the Scriptures say, “I will destroy the wisdom of the wise and discard the intelligence of the intelligent.” 20 So where does this leave the philosophers, the scholars, and the world’s brilliant debaters? God has made the wisdom of this world look foolish . 21 Since God in his wisdom saw to it that the world would never know him through human wisdom, he has used our foolish preaching to save those who believe. 22 It is foolish to the Jews, who ask for signs from heaven. And it is foolish to the Greeks, who seek human wisdom.

… 25 This foolish plan of God is wiser than the wisest of human plans, and God’s weakness is stronger than the greatest of human strength. 26 Remember, dear brothers and sisters, that few of you were wise in the world’s eyes or powerful or wealthy when God called you. 27 Instead, God chose things the world considers foolish in order to shame those who think they are wise. And he chose things that are powerless to shame those who are powerful.

Solomon knew about God, and I’m certain that for a while he was walking with God.  When he refused to respect God’s warning, he pridefully resisted God, he started to fall out of relationship with him. Knowing About God But Not Knowing God  I also think Solomon was also guilty of the millstone sin, causing others to sin.

 NLT Matt 18:5 “And anyone who welcomes a little child like this on my behalf is welcoming me. 6 But if you cause one of these little ones who trusts in me to fall into sin, it would be better for you to have a large millstone tied around your neck and be drowned in the depths of the sea. 7 “What sorrow awaits the world, because it tempts people to sin. Temptations are inevitable, but what sorrow awaits the person who does the tempting.

So what’s the lesson for us? God wants us to turn from our worldly wisdom and come to know Christ. I think this passage sums this up quite well.

NLT Phil 3;5 I was circumcised when I was eight days old. I am a pure-blooded citizen of Israel and a member of the tribe of Benjamin—a real Hebrew if there ever was one! I was a member of the Pharisees, who demand the strictest obedience to the Jewish law. 6 I was so zealous that I harshly persecuted the church. And as for righteousness, I obeyed the law without fault. 7 I once thought these things were valuable, but now I consider them worthless because of what Christ has done. 8 Yes, everything else is worthless when compared with the infinite value of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have discarded everything else, counting it all as garbage, so that I could gain Christ 9 and become one with him. I no longer count on my own righteousness through obeying the law; rather, I become righteous through faith in Christ. For God’s way of making us right with himself depends on faith. 10 I want to know Christ and experience the mighty power that raised him from the dead. I want to suffer with him, sharing in his death, 11 so that one way or another I will experience the resurrection from the dead!

Pressing toward the Goal

12 I don’t mean to say that I have already achieved these things or that I have already reached perfection. But I press on to possess that perfection for which Christ Jesus first possessed me. 13 No, dear brothers and sisters, I have not achieved it, but I focus on this one thing: Forgetting the past and looking forward to what lies ahead, 14 I press on to reach the end of the race and receive the heavenly prize for which God, through Christ Jesus, is calling us.

Dear God,

Help us to forget about our past failures, to look to the future to press on to reach the end of the race and receive the heavenly prize, to press on to possess that perfection for which Christ Jesus first possessed us. Help us to completely reject our own righteousness and simply embrace the righteousness that comes through faith in your son. In Jesus’ name we pray, Amen.

Glenn

All Articles

P.S. I now see that the doctrine of an eternal hell is a false doctrine.  I believe that the early church understood that Hell is an age of wrath, where God makes those who fought against him pay for their disobedience.

http://truthinscripture.com/2012/07/06/the-wages-of-sin-is-not-eternal-torment/

Will Solomon Make It To Heaven?

Make It To Heaven?

About this entry