God’s Path From Trouble To Peace

The Bible show us the path from worldly trouble to the peace of God. It is really quite simple. In this world we are promised trouble. In Christ we are promised peace. When we feel troubled, it is a sign that we are not effectively living in Christ. If we are not following the guidance that believers are to be in the world, but not of it, we will feel troubled. Please take a look at this passage, first in the NIV and then again in YLT translation.

NLT John 16;31 “You believe at last!” Jesus answered. 32 “But a time is coming, and has come, when you will be scattered, each to his own home. You will leave me all alone. Yet I am not alone, for my Father is with me. 33 “I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”

YLT John 16;31 Jesus answered them, `Now do ye believe? lo, there doth come an hour, 32 and now it hath come, that ye may be scattered, each to his own things, and me ye may leave alone, and I am not alone, because the Father is with me; 33 these things I have spoken to you, that in me ye may have peace, in the world ye shall have tribulation, but take courage–I have overcome the world.’

– in Christ we may have peace, in the world we shall have tribulation [trouble]!

When God sees us failing to live “in Christ” our troubles will mount and our peace will be diminish.  In other words when we fail to follow the “in the world but not of it” passage, when God sees us failing to live “in Christ”, our troubles will mount and our peace will be diminish. I think we can even use this “peace over troubles” ratio to see how we are doing at living in Christ! I can even remember feeling great peace even thru terribly troubling times, because I was fully trusting in the Lord. I had turned this time over to him humbly in prayer.

‘Do Not Love the World’

NIV 1John 2; 15 Do not love the world or anything in the world. If anyone loves the world, the love of the Father is not in him. 16 For everything in the world – the cravings of sinful man, the lust of his eyes and the boasting of what he has and does – comes not from the Father but from the world. 17 The world and its desires pass away, but the man who does the will of God lives forever.

When we are  Living By The Power Of God and Coming To Christ, Accepting His Help And Mercy actually living in Christ we are promised his Peace!

Dear God,

Help us to see with spiritual eyes, to rise above this earthly perspective, and to see yours. May your will be Done, Amen.

Glenn

 

Article List

About this entry