Following The Spirit’s Leading In Every Part Of Our Lives

 

We can block the Holy Spirit off from parts of our lives. When we do this we are not living out our call. We are not fully “Offering our lives as a living sacrifice”

NLT Gal 5;22 But the Holy Spirit produces this kind of fruit in our lives: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, 23 gentleness, and self-control. There is no law against these things! 24 Those who belong to Christ Jesus have nailed the passions and desires of their sinful nature to his cross and crucified them there. 25 Since we are living by the Spirit, let us follow the Spirit’s leading in every part of our lives. 26 Let us not become conceited, or provoke one another, or be jealous of one another.

We can block the Spirit off from sections of our lives, but our assignment is clear; ‘follow the Spirit’s leading in every part of our lives.’

This is easier said than done. I’m certain that we can find more guidance from the scriptures in this. We can so easily block out what the Holy Spirit is trying to tell us. We can have dark worldly eyes that blind us to what God is telling us. “Seeing Straight, Seeing With Spiritual Eyes ” If we are not giving to the poor, living by the spirits power, allowing God to change the way we think, becoming a new creation in Christ Jesus, we are missing the boat.

1. Seek and yield to God in the areas of our biggest frustrations – that’s probably where God has been working on us;

AMP Col 3;20 Children, obey your parents in everything, for this is pleasing to the Lord. 21 Fathers, do not provoke or irritate or fret your children [do not be hard on them or harass them], lest they become discouraged and sullen and morose and feel inferior and frustrated . [Do not break their spirit].

It doesn’t sound like God will try to break our spirit, so if we choose not to listen in certain areas, he will probably just keep on showing us the truth, hoping that we can eventually turn from our pride and humbly allow him to change the way we think. If we refuse to re-evaluate our positions, we limit God’s ability to change us. The area where God is trying to speak will probably turn out to be one of our greatest frustrations.

2. Trusting & letting God work thru our weakness. Remember relying on our own strength actually hinders God’s ability to work thru us;

NLT 2 Cor 12;9 Each time he said, “My grace is all you need. My power works best in weakness.” So now I am glad to boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ can work through me. 10 That’s why I take pleasure in my weaknesses, and in the insults, hardships, persecutions, and troubles that I suffer for Christ. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

When we are weak, God can better work thru us. In this mode we are seeking more trusting more and relying less on our own sellfish desires.

3. Let the word [and Holy Spirit] change the way we think, renewing you mind;

A Living Sacrifice to God

NLT Rom 12;1-3 And so, dear brothers and sisters, I plead with you to give your bodies to God because of all he has done for you. Let them be a living and holy sacrifice—the kind he will find acceptable. This is truly the way to worship him. 2 Don’t copy the behavior and customs of this world, but let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think. Then you will learn to know God’s will for you, which is good and pleasing and perfect. 3 Because of the privilege and authority God has given me, I give each of you this warning: Don’t think you are better than you really are. Be honest in your evaluation of yourselves, measuring yourselves by the faith God has given us.

Lets look at vs 2 again in the Modern King James Version:

2 And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, in order to prove by you what is that good and pleasing and perfect will of God.

4. Ego & Pride Cut Us Off From God, When We Are Not Glorying Only In Christ;

When we have pride in our accomplishments, our degrees, our jobs, or our stuff, when we glory in anything other than the cross of Christ we dishonor God. This passage shows us the way to overcome our worldly nature Only when we apply this teaching can we turn away from our anchor to this world.

NLT Gal 6;14 As for me, may I never boast about anything except the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ. Because of that cross, my interest in this world has been crucified, and the world’s interest in me has also died. 15 It doesn’t matter whether we have been circumcised or not. What counts is whether we have been transformed into a new creation. 16 May God’s peace and mercy be upon all who live by this principle; they are the new people of God.

5. Rebellion, turning from the light passage;

NLT John 3;18 “There is no judgment against anyone who believes in him. But anyone who does not believe in him has already been judged for not believing in God’s one and only Son. 19 And the judgment is based on this fact: God’s light came into the world, but people loved the darkness more than the light, for their actions were evil. 20 All who do evil hate the light and refuse to go near it for fear their sins will be exposed. 21 But those who do what is right come to the light so others can see that they are doing what God wants.

6. Selfishness vs Service;

NLT Gal 1;10 Obviously, I’m not trying to win the approval of people, but of God. If pleasing people were my goal, I would not be Christ’s servant.

Paul’s Message Comes from Christ”

11 Dear brothers and sisters, I want you to understand that the gospel message I preach is not based on mere human reasoning. 12 I received my message from no human source, and no one taught me. Instead, I received it by direct revelation from Jesus Christ.

7. Applying the Biblical Definition of Love in our lives;

NLT 1 Cor 13;2 If I had the gift of prophecy, and if I understood all of God’s secret plans and possessed all knowledge, and if I had such faith that I could move mountains, but didn’t love others, I would be nothing. 3 If I gave everything I have to the poor and even sacrificed my body, I could boast about it; but if I didn’t love others, I would have gained nothing. 4 Love is patient and kind. Love is not jealous or boastful or proud 5 or rude. It does not demand its own way. It is not irritable, and it keeps no record of being wronged. 6 It does not rejoice about injustice but rejoices whenever the truth wins out. 7 Love never gives up, never loses faith, is always hopeful, and endures through every circumstance. 8 Prophecy and speaking in unknown languages and special knowledge will become useless. But love will last forever! 9 Now our knowledge is partial and incomplete, and even the gift of prophecy reveals only part of the whole picture! 10 But when full understanding comes, these partial things will become useless.

May God Help Us To Follow The Spirit In Every Part Of Our Lives!

Glenn

 

About this entry