Feeding The Flock

 

Pastors need to understand that their best sermon is not real food for the flock. Real spiritual food comes from only one place, it comes from Christ. Biblical preaching is very simple. It doesn’t rely on persuasive speeches (Greek homilies). It relies on only one thing, on the power of the Holy Spirit. Let’s first look at the passage on real spiritual; food.

NIV John 6;53 Jesus said to them, “I tell you the truth, unless you eat the flesh of the Son of Man and drink his blood, you have no life in you. 54 Whoever eats my flesh and drinks my blood has eternal life, and I will raise him up at the last day. 55 For my flesh is real food and my blood is real drink. 56 Whoever eats my flesh and drinks my blood remains in me, and I in him. 57 Just as the living Father sent me and I live because of the Father, so the one who feeds on me will live because of me. 58 This is the bread that came down from heaven. Your forefathers ate manna and died, but he who feeds on this bread will live forever.” 59 He said this while teaching in the synagogue in Capernaum.

‘Many Disciples Desert Jesus’

60 On hearing it, many of his disciples said, “This is a hard teaching. Who can accept it?”

To survive spiritually the flock needs real food, They need to be plugged directly into the vine!

A Pastor’s wise sounding Greek Homilies actually contradict the Biblical call.

Paul tells us that he didn’t rely on persuasive speeches and human wisdom. He relied on the power of the Holy Spirit and the power of God.

NLT 1 Cor 2;4 4 And my message and my preaching were very plain. Rather than using clever and persuasive speeches, I relied only on the power of the Holy Spirit. 5 I did this so you would trust not in human wisdom but in the power of God.

NLT Col 2;8 Don’t let anyone capture you with empty philosophies and high- sounding nonsense that come from human thinking and from the spiritual powers of this world, rather than from Christ. 9 For in Christ lives all the fullness of God in a human body. 10 So you also are complete through your union with Christ, who is the head over every ruler and authority.

We are not even to pay attention to these wise sounding worldly sermons. We are completed thru our union with Christ.

NLT 1 Cor 1;19 As the Scriptures say, “I will destroy the wisdom of the wise and discard the intelligence of the intelligent.” 20 So where does this leave the philosophers, the scholars, and the world’s brilliant debaters? God has made the wisdom of this world look foolish. 21 Since God in his wisdom saw to it that the world would never know him through human wisdom, he has used our foolish preaching to save those who believe.

God makes the wisdom of the world look foolish and saw to it that the world would never know him through human wisdom. We are even told that wise sounding preaching is useless –  Biblical Sermons

May God Free All In His Flock From This Wrong Worldly Preaching and These Blind Preachers!

Glenn

 

Article List

 

About this entry