Living Christian, Keeping It Simple

This is more directed toward new believer’s, but applicable to all. My earlier article ‘Tuning into God’ is more directed towards those who have been walking with and seeking the Lord for a while already.

 

There is a creation so there is a creator.

 

He showed us how we are to live [as Jesus did]- he even offers to adopt us into his family if we trust and follow him. If we accept him as Lord [let him lead] & accept the truth of the Bible, he promises to be with us and even to deliver us from death. To be with us in both through triumph & suffering – to actually take up residence in our souls, and to guide us w/ his word, his Holy Spirit. Our Job, our assignment is just to focus on Jesus, to seek his will, & to following [to obey]

 

What’s the catch? We are no longer calling the shots – we are no longer running the show. God is in charge now. Our mission, simply follow, seek his will, and trust, & obey. This is not an easy task for us proud folks. Our pride is like a wall between us & God, keeping us from seeing the things he is trying to show us, actually separating us from God

 

The Bible warns us that we can’t possibly succeed on our own, it doesn’t matter how hard we try, we simply can not do it! God wants us to understand – submitting to him, to his Holy Spirit is the only way.

 

MSG Mat 16;24 Then Jesus went to work on his disciples. “Anyone who intends to come with me has to let me lead . You’re not in the driver’s seat; I am. Don’t run from suffering; embrace it. Follow me and I’ll show you how. 25 Self-help is no help at all. Self-sacrifice is the way, my way, to finding yourself, your true self. 26 What kind of deal is it to get everything you want but lose yourself? What could you ever trade your soul for?

 

MSG Rom 7;18- 8;4 I realize that I don’t have what it takes. I can will it, but I can’t do it. 19 I decide to do good, but I don’t really do it; I decide not to do bad, but then I do it anyway. 20 My decisions, such as they are, don’t result in actions. Something has gone wrong deep within me and gets the better of me every time. 21 It happens so regularly that it’s predictable. The moment I decide to do good, sin is there to trip me up. 22 I truly delight in God’s commands, 23 but it’s pretty obvious that not all of me joins in that delight. Parts of me covertly rebel, and just when I least expect it, they take charge. 24 I’ve tried everything and nothing helps. I’m at the end of my rope. Is there no one who can do anything for me? Isn’t that the real question? 25 The answer, thank God, is that Jesus Christ can and does. He acted to set things right in this life of contradictions where I want to serve God with all my heart and mind, but am pulled by the influence of sin to do something totally different. The Solution Is Life on God’s Terms 8:1 With the arrival of Jesus, the Messiah, that fateful dilemma is resolved. Those who enter into Christ’s being-here-for-us no longer have to live under a continuous, low-lying black cloud. 2 A new power is in operation. The Spirit of life in Christ, like a strong wind, has magnificently cleared the air, freeing you from a fated lifetime of brutal tyranny at the hands of sin and death. 3 God went for the jugular when he sent his own Son. He didn’t deal with the problem as something remote and unimportant. In his Son, Jesus, he personally took on the human condition, entered the disordered mess of struggling humanity in order to set it right once and for all. The law code, weakened as it always was by fractured human nature, could never have done that. The law always ended up being used as a Band-Aid on sin instead of a deep healing of it. 4 And now what the law code asked for but we couldn’t deliver is accomplished as we, instead of redoubling our own efforts, simply embrace what the Spirit is doing in us.

 

CEV Rom8;12-17

12My dear friends, we must not live to satisfy our desires. 13If you do, you will die. But you will live, if by the help of God’s Spirit you say “No” to your desires. 14Only those people who are led by God’s Spirit are his children. 15God’s Spirit doesn’t make us slaves who are afraid of him. Instead, we become his children and call him our Father. 16God’s Spirit makes us sure that we are his children. 17His Spirit lets us know that together with Christ we will be given what God has promised. We will also share in the glory of Christ, because we have suffered with him.

 

Its a pretty simple cycle; 1 Trust God, 2 Seek his will [turning from our wants], 3 Co-operate & obey [do what we’re asked].

 

I pray this message has been useful for you. May these words encourage you to seek God and allow him to transform you. In Jesus’ name I pray, Amen.

Glenn

Article List

 

 

 

About this entry