In Spirit and In Truth

Editor’s Note:

I leave this old post in its entirety for historical purposes.  I must admit that at the time I wrote this I thought that I was on the narrow way, that I was already among God’s chosen.  I now see that I was called, but not yet chosen.  I was still seeking God in the flesh and in the truth!  I was still drunk on bad doctrines and deaf to the Spirit.  Even though I recognized the impurity and many of the devil doctrines that permeate organized Christianity, and actually heard God’s call to come out of physical Babylon, to leave today’s worldly harlot churches, I was still double minded, an enemy of God being of the world.  Here are three key signs, warnings that you are not yet chosen.  

If you still think that you chose to follow God.  Scripture clearly tells us that We didn’t choose God, God Chooses US!!

If you don’t recognize yourself as a son of perdition. 

If you still believe in the doctrine of an eternal Hell, or even complete destruction in Hell. 

I’ll include some dicussions in the Post Script.

God knows our deepest motives. He calls us to worship in Spirit & truth. I think this is part of his plan to transform us. He has the responsibility to transform us, but he needs our cooperation. He needs true authentic believers.

NIV John 4;23 Yet a time is coming and has now come when the true worshipers will worship the Father in spirit and truth , for they are the kind of worshipers the Father seeks.24 God is spirit, and his worshipers must worship in spirit and in truth .”

If we are pretending or rationalizing, he can’t really transform us. He needs truly grateful, trusting, authentic believers, people who truly understand their inadequacy without Jesus, ones who understand his offer and are willing to claim Jesus’ sacrifice for themselves, moldable & trusting, not someone who is stuck in their selfish desires.

There are verses warning that some who think they are on the road to salvation are fooling themselves.

He tells us the way to salvation is vigorous,

MSG Luke13; 24 “Whether few or many is none of your business. Put your mind on your life with God. The way to life-to God!-is vigorous and requires your total attention. A lot of you are going to assume that you’ll sit down to God’s salvation banquet just because you’ve been hanging around the neighborhood all your lives. 25 Well, one day you’re going to be banging on the door, wanting to get in, but you’ll find the door locked and the Master saying, ‘Sorry, you’re not on my guest list.’ 26 “You’ll protest, ‘But we’ve known you all our lives!’ 27 only to be interrupted with his abrupt, ‘Your kind of knowing can hardly be called knowing. You don’t know the first thing about me.’

Just after Matthew tells us the Golden Rule he warns us that few will enter the Kingdom through its ‘narrow gate’.

NLT Mat 7:12-19 ‘The Golden Rule’ 12 “Do to others whatever you would like them to do to you. This is the essence of all that is taught in the law and the prophets. ‘The Narrow Gate’ 13 “You can enter God’s Kingdom only through the narrow gate . The highway to hell is broad, and its gate is wide for the many who choose that way. 14 But the gateway to life is very narrow and the road is difficult, and only a few ever find it. ‘The Tree and Its Fruit’ 15 “Beware of false prophets who come disguised as harmless sheep but are really vicious wolves. 16 You can identify them by their fruit, that is, by the way they act. Can you pick grapes from thornbushes, or figs from thistles? 17 A good tree produces good fruit, and a bad tree produces bad fruit. 18 A good tree can’t produce bad fruit, and a bad tree can’t produce good fruit. 19 So every tree that does not produce good fruit is chopped down and thrown into the fire.

Summary:

We are clearly prohibited from being: sexually immoral, idolaters, adulterers, male prostitutes, homosexuals, thieves, greedy, drunkards, slanderers, & swindlers, & from taking advantage of believers trust and causing others to sin, from weak conditional faith [childlike simple trust is required], and from with divided Loyalty[never valuing anything above God].

Background [specific passages]:

MSG Matt 25; 41 “Then he will turn to the ‘goats,’ the ones on his left, and say, ‘Get out, worthless goats! You’re good for nothing but the fires of hell. 42 And why? Because- I was hungry and you gave me no meal, I was thirsty and you gave me no drink, 43 I was homeless and you gave me no bed, I was shivering and you gave me no clothes, Sick and in prison, and you never visited.’ 44 “Then those ‘goats’ are going to say, ‘Master, what are you talking about? When did we ever see you hungry or thirsty or homeless or shivering or sick or in prison and didn’t help?’ 45 “He will answer them, ‘I’m telling the solemn truth: Whenever you failed to do one of these things to someone who was being overlooked or ignored, that was me-you failed to do it to me.’ 46 “Then those ‘goats’ will be herded to their eternal doom, but the ‘sheep’ to their eternal reward.”

-Not helping those in need

MSG Mark 10;20 He said, “Teacher, I have-from my youth-kept them all!” 21 Jesus looked him hard in the eye-and loved him! He said, “There’s one thing left: Go sell whatever you own and give it to the poor. All your wealth will then be heavenly wealth. And come follow me.” 22 The man’s face clouded over. This was the last thing he expected to hear, and he walked off with a heavy heart. He was holding on tight to a lot.

-Prohibits valuing stuff more than God

NLT Matt 25;24-30 “Then the servant with the one bag of silver came and said, ‘Master, I knew you were a harsh man, harvesting crops you didn’t plant and gathering crops you didn’t cultivate. 25 I was afraid I would lose your money, so I hid it in the earth. Look, here is your money back.’ 26 “But the master replied, ‘You wicked and lazy servant! If you knew I harvested crops I didn’t plant and gathered crops I didn’t cultivate, 27 why didn’t you deposit my money in the bank? At least I could have gotten some interest on it.’ 28 “Then he ordered, ‘Take the money from this servant, and give it to the one with the ten bags of silver. 29 To those who use well what they are given, even more will be given, and they will have an abundance. But from those who do nothing, even what little they have will be taken away. 30 Now throw this useless servant into outer darkness, where there will be weeping and gnashing of teeth.

– Not using our gifts for the Kingdom

MSG John 3;4 “How can anyone,” said Nicodemus, “be born who has already been born and grown up? You can’t re- enter your mother’s womb and be born again. What are you saying with this ‘born-from-above’ talk?” 5 Jesus said, “You’re not listening. Let me say it again. Unless a person submits to this original creation-the ‘wind hovering over the water’ creation, the invisible moving the visible, a baptism into a new life-it’s not possible to enter God’s kingdom . what I’m pointing to-to God’s kingdom .” 4 “How can anyone,” said Nicodemus, “be born who has already been born and grown up? You can’t re- enter your mother’s womb and be born again. What are you saying with this ‘born-from-above’ talk?” 5 Jesus said, “You’re not listening. Let me say it again. Unless a person submits to this original creation-the ‘wind hovering over the water’ creation, the invisible moving the visible, a baptism into a new life-it’s not possible to enter God’s kingdom .

– Requires submitting to the Spirit

NIV Matt 7;21 ” Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but only he who does the will of my Father who is in heaven. 22 Many will say to me on that day, ‘Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in your name, and in your name drive out demons and perform many miracles?’ 23 Then I will tell them plainly, ‘I never knew you. Away from me, you evildoers!’

– Requires Knowing Jesus, seeking & doing God’s will

NIV 1 Cor 6;9 Do you not know that the wicked will not inherit the kingdom of God? Do not be deceived: Neither the sexually immoral nor idolaters nor adulterers nor male prostitutes nor homosexual offenders 10 nor thieves nor the greedy nor drunkards nor slanderers nor swindlers will inherit the kingdom of God. 11 And that is what some of you were. But

– Prohibits sexually immoral, idolaters, adulterers, male prostitutes, homosexuals, thieves, greedy, drunkards, slanderers, & swindlers

NIV Luke 16; 1 Jesus said to his disciples: “Things that cause people to sin are bound to come, but woe to that person through whom they come. 2 It would be better for him to be thrown into the sea with a millstone tied around his neck than for him to cause one of these little ones to sin.

– Prohibits taking advantage of a believes simple trust.

NIV Matt 18:1- 51 At that time the disciples came to Jesus and asked, “Who is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven?” 2 He called a little child and had him stand among them. 3 And he said: “I tell you the truth, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven. 4 Therefore, whoever humbles himself like this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven. 5 “And whoever welcomes a little child like this in my name welcomes me. 6 But if anyone causes one of these little ones who believe in me to sin, it would be better for him to have a large millstone hung around his neck and to be drowned in the depths of the sea. 7 “Woe to the world because of the things that cause people to sin! Such things must come, but woe to the man through whom they come! 8 If your hand or your foot causes you to sin cut it off and throw it away. It is better for you to enter life maimed or crippled than to have two have two hands or two feet and be thrown into eternal fire.

– Prohibits Causing others to sin

MSG Mark 10;13 The people brought children to Jesus, hoping he might touch them. 14 The disciples shooed them off. But Jesus was irate and let them know it: “Don’t push these children away. Don’t ever get between them and me. These children are at the very center of life in the kingdom. 15 Mark this: Unless you accept God’s kingdom in the simplicity of a child, you’ll never get in.” 16 Then, gathering the children up in his arms, he laid his hands of blessing on them.

– need childlike [simple – unconditional] trust – true faith

NLT Jam 1;5 If you need wisdom, ask our generous God, and he will give it to you. He will not rebuke you for asking. 6 But when you ask him, be sure that your faith is in God alone. Do not waver, for a person with divided loyalty is as unsettled as a wave of the sea that is blown and tossed by the wind. 7 Such people should not expect to receive anything from the Lord. 8 Their loyalty is divided between God and the world, and they are unstable in everything they do.

– Prohibits divided Loyalty

John 5; 47-70 A little ‘Christ in us’ is not enough to be fit & ready at the end of time, we need a full serving. Sheer muscle and willpower won’t make this happen. God selects who can come, it’s a gift from the Father.”

– Some of us just can’t seem to take the risk

MSG John 6;53 But Jesus didn’t give an inch. “Only insofar as you eat and drink flesh and blood, the flesh and blood of the Son of Man, do you have life within you. 54 The one who brings a hearty appetite to this eating and drinking has eternal life and will be fit and ready for the Final Day. 55 My flesh is real food and my blood is real drink. 56 By eating my flesh and drinking my blood you enter into me and I into you. 57 In the same way that the fully alive Father sent me here and I live because of him, so the one who makes a meal of me lives because of me.

– Perhaps this is not a salvation question, but to be fit & ready at the end of time, we need a full serving of Christ in us, not just a little bit.

Prayer; Dear God May this accurately summarize what your word warns us about losing our salvation. Please help all those on the outside of salvation to take the steps necessary to submit to your will, to always help those in need; to value you more than any of our stuff; to use our gifts for the Kingdom; to submit to the Spirit and to seek and do your will.

Please keep us from Being sexually immoral, idolaters, adulterers, prostitutes, homosexuals, thieves, greedy, drunkards, slanderers, & swindlers; from Causing others to sin; from weak faith [need childlike simple trust], and from divided Loyalty never valuing anything above you. May all these things be your will, in Jesus name we pray, Amen.

Glenn

Article List

P.S.  This is a continuation of the Editor’s Note from the beginning of the article.  Although I was able to see that many others were stillPresumerPerformers ”  I was unable to see it in myself!!  I still had the log in my own eye!!!  When Jesus reveals his power to you, his complete control following him is no longer a matter of effort,  it is simply a matter of faith!!!!

About this entry