The Shadow of Death

I was led to seek what the Bible describes as the shadow of death. Let’s take a look at a few passages in the ASV and then all the passages in the KJV:

A few ASV Shadow of Death passages:

Psalm 23:4

Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I fear no evil, for You are with me; Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.

Psalm 44:19

Yet You have crushed us in a place of jackals And covered us with the shadow of death.

Psalm 107:10

There were those who dwelt in darkness and in the shadow of death, Prisoners in misery and chains,

Psalm 107:14

He brought them out of darkness and the shadow of death And broke their bands apart.

Matthew 4:16

“ THE PEOPLE WHO WERE SITTING IN DARKNESS SAW A GREAT LIGHT, AND THOSE WHO WERE SITTING IN THE LAND AND SHADOW OF DEATH, UPON THEM A LIGHT DAWNED.”

Luke 1:79

TO SHINE UPON THOSE WHO SIT IN DARKNESS AND THE SHADOW OF DEATH, To guide our feet into the way of peace.

All KJV Shadow of death verses:

Job 10:21

Before I go whence I shall not return, even to the land of darkness and the shadow of death;

Job 10:22

A land of darkness, as darkness itself; and of the shadow of death, without any order, and where the light is as darkness.

Job 12:22

He discovereth deep things out of darkness, and bringeth out to light the shadow of death.

Job 16:16

My face is foul with weeping, and on my eyelids is the shadow of death;

Job 24:17

For the morning is to them even as the shadow of death: if one know them, they are in the terrors of the shadow of death.

Job 28:3

He setteth an end to darkness, and searcheth out all perfection: the stones of darkness, and the shadow of death.

Job 34:22

There is no darkness, nor shadow of death, where the workers of iniquity may hide themselves.

Job 38:17

Have the gates of death been opened unto thee? or hast thou seen the doors of the shadow of death?

Psalm 23:4

Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me.

As I read tru these passages I was thinking that the shadow of death is the strong delusion

KJV 2 Thess 2:8 And then shall that Wicked be revealed, whom the Lord shall consume with the spirit of his mouth, and shall destroy with the brightness of his coming:

9 Even him, whose coming is after the working of Satan with all power and signs and lying wonders,

10 And with all deceivableness of unrighteousness in them that perish; because they received not the love of the truth, that they might be saved.

11 And for this cause God shall send them strong delusion, that they should believe a lie:

12 That they all might be damned who believed not the truth, but had pleasure in unrighteousness.

So the shadow of death is the darkness, the place of jackals, where the prisoners sit in misery and chains. I think that these folks in the shadow of death are the ones suffering under the strong delusion [2 Thess 2:11]. I was once among these folks, but by the grace of God, he has shown me the light! Trust me when I say that I am still a wretched piece of flesh, but I have seen the value of seeking God with all my heart. May his will be done on earth as it is in heaven! Amen.

Glenn

All Articles

The Shadow of Death

The Shadow of Death

The Shadow of Death

The Shadow of Death

The Shadow of Death

About this entry