Being Disqualified, Committing The Unpardonable Sin

To avoid being disqualified by the unpardonable sin we have to know what it is! I see four ways that we can blaspheme the Holy Spirit, two ways for Christ followers and two ways for others.

But first let’s look at Blasphemy from another perspective. Who does the Bible warn most severely? I suspect that these are the folks who have committed the unpardonable sin. These are the folks who blaspheme the Holy Spirit!

NLT Rev 14: 9 Then a third angel followed them, shouting, “Anyone who worships the beast and his statue or who accepts his mark on the forehead or on the hand 10 must drink the wine of God’s anger. It has been poured full strength into God’s cup of wrath. And they will be tormented with fire and burning sulfur in the presence of the holy angels and the Lamb. 11 The smoke of their torment will rise forever and ever, and they will have no relief day or night, for they have worshiped the beast and his statue and have accepted the mark of his name.”

12 This means that God’s holy people must endure persecution patiently, obeying his commands and maintaining their faith in Jesus.

Clearly, the people who take the mark of the beast and worship the beast or his image are in for big trouble.

These folks are cast into the lake of fire.  I believe that the trials of this earth is God’s lake of fire.  Jer 18:6-7 warns that  God can throw the clay that turns out wrong  back on the potters wheel.  I believe this ties in with God’s will that none should perish.  This is developed here:  God’s Place Of Judgment, This Earthly Lake Of Fire

We can blaspheme the Holy Spirit in a number of ways. To better understand we need to look a this for two different groups of people. First we’ll look at folks who consider themselves followers of Jesus, and then we look at how others can commit this sin. Remember God warns us to consider the cost before we decide to become a follow Jesus, and that those given much, much is expected!

For those who consider themselves followers of Jesus blasphemy against the Holy Spirit is:

1. Taking on the role of the Holy Spirit: The Holy Spirit leads Christ’s followers into all truth. He tells seekers all that Jesus wants us to know. If mere men attempt to take on this role [as virtually all today’s pastors do], they are blaspheming the Holy Spirit!!

NLT John 16:13When the Spirit of truth comes, he will guide you into all truth. He will not speak on his own but will tell you what he has heard. He will tell you about the future. 14He will bring me glory by telling you whatever he receives from me. 15All that belongs to the Father is mine; this is why I said, ‘The Spirit will tell you whatever he receives from me.’

The folks who follow their beastly ‘using God for profit’ pastors are accepting the mark of the beast. Their allegiance [their mark] is with their pastor and his church. The folks who perpetuate the false priesthood covering doctrine are the ones who worship the beast! Wrath Seekers, Pastors Who Worship The Beast

2. Refusing to treat the blood of the covenant as holy [Heb 10]. If we treat God’s covenant as if it were common and unholy; if we deny that the Holy Spirit has the power to deliver us from selfishness, lust, and sin, if we refuse to allow the Holy Spirit to guide us, looking primarily to men rather than God for guidance, this too is blasphemy against the Holy Spirit.

NLT Heb 10:23-39 Not turning our back on God

23 Let us hold tightly without wavering to the hope we affirm, for God can be trusted to keep his promise. 24 Let us think of ways to motivate one another to acts of love and good works. 25 And let us not neglect our meeting together, as some people do, but encourage one another, especially now that the day of his return is drawing near.

26 Dear friends, if we deliberately continue sinning after we have received knowledge of the truth, there is no longer any sacrifice that will cover these sins. 27 There is only the terrible expectation of God’s judgment and the raging fire that will consume his enemies. 28 For anyone who refused to obey the law of Moses was put to death without mercy on the testimony of two or three witnesses. 29 Just think how much worse the punishment will be for those who have trampled on the Son of God, and have treated the blood of the covenant, which made us holy, as if it were common and unholy, and have insulted and disdained the Holy Spirit who brings God’s mercy to us. 30 For we know the one who said,

“I will take revenge.

I will pay them back.”

He also said,

“The Lord will judge his own people.”

31 It is a terrible thing to fall into the hands of the living God.

32 Think back on those early days when you first learned about Christ. Remember how you remained faithful even though it meant terrible suffering. 33 Sometimes you were exposed to public ridicule and were beaten, and sometimes you helped others who were suffering the same things. 34 You suffered along with those who were thrown into jail, and when all you owned was taken from you, you accepted it with joy. You knew there were better things waiting for you that will last forever.

35 So do not throw away this confident trust in the Lord. Remember the great reward it brings you! 36 Patient endurance is what you need now, so that you will continue to do God’s will. Then you will receive all that he has promised.

37 “For in just a little while,

the Coming One will come and not delay.

38 And my righteous ones will live by faith.

But I will take no pleasure in anyone who turns away.”

39 But we are not like those who turn away from God to their own destruction. We are the faithful ones, whose souls will be saved.

Christ’s followers can blaspheme the Holy Spirit by denying his power. Even if we don’t speak blasphemies, the lives of Christ’s followers are a testimony to the power of God. If we refuse to use what God gives us for his Kingdom we will be thrown out and rejected. This ties in with Those given much, much is expected.

For those who don’t consider themselves followers of Jesus blasphemy against the Holy Spirit is:

1. Refusing to recognize the eternal power and divine nature of God by worshiping idols. This can be Worshiping the creation, rather than the creator [Rom 1], or even creating a false limited God [idol], .

NLT Rom 1:18-32

God’s Anger at Sin

18 But God shows his anger from heaven against all sinful, wicked people who suppress the truth by their wickedness.[i] 19 They know the truth about God because he has made it obvious to them. 20 For ever since the world was created, people have seen the earth and sky. Through everything God made, they can clearly see his invisible qualities―his eternal power and divine nature. So they have no excuse for not knowing God.

21 Yes, they knew God, but they wouldn’t worship him as God or even give him thanks. And they began to think up foolish ideas of what God was like. As a result, their minds became dark and confused. 22 Claiming to be wise, they instead became utter fools. 23 And instead of worshiping the glorious, ever-living God, they worshiped idols made to look like mere people and birds and animals and reptiles.

24 So God abandoned them to do whatever shameful things their hearts desired. As a result, they did vile and degrading things with each other’s bodies. 25 They traded the truth about God for a lie. So they worshiped and served the things God created instead of the Creator himself, who is worthy of eternal praise! Amen. 26 That is why God abandoned them to their shameful desires. Even the women turned against the natural way to have sex and instead indulged in sex with each other. 27 And the men, instead of having normal sexual relations with women, burned with lust for each other. Men did shameful things with other men, and as a result of this sin, they suffered within themselves the penalty they deserved.

28 Since they thought it foolish to acknowledge God, he abandoned them to their foolish thinking and let them do things that should never be done. 29 Their lives became full of every kind of wickedness, sin, greed, hate, envy, murder, quarreling, deception, malicious behavior, and gossip. 30 They are backstabbers, haters of God, insolent, proud, and boastful. They invent new ways of sinning, and they disobey their parents. 31 They refuse to understand, break their promises, are heartless, and have no mercy. 32 They know God’s justice requires that those who do these things deserve to die, yet they do them anyway. Worse yet, they encourage others to do them, too.

God strives with men to a point. When we make up foolish ideas of what God is like, when we lose all fear and respect for God, he will abandon us, removing his restraining Holy Spirit from us. Deep inside these folks know that that they will be punished for it[vs 32], but they keep doing it, even encouraging other to do the same! This idolatry will also lead folks to the lake of Fire. Folks who do this are still carrying the The Mark of the Beast, and speaking his words – worshiping the beast.

2. Refusing to love and care for others, considering ourselves greater, ignoring our conscious by refusing to care for and helping the weak, the poor, the foreigner, the prisoner and the widow.

The Final Judgment

NLT Matt 25:31-46

31 “But when the Son of Man comes in his glory, and all the angels with him, then he will sit upon his glorious throne. 32 All the nations[e] will be gathered in his presence, and he will separate the people as a shepherd separates the sheep from the goats. 33 He will place the sheep at his right hand and the goats at his left.

34 “Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father, inherit the Kingdom prepared for you from the creation of the world. 35 For I was hungry, and you fed me. I was thirsty, and you gave me a drink. I was a stranger, and you invited me into your home. 36 I was naked, and you gave me clothing. I was sick, and you cared for me. I was in prison, and you visited me.’

37 “Then these righteous ones will reply, ‘Lord, when did we ever see you hungry and feed you? Or thirsty and give you something to drink? 38 Or a stranger and show you hospitality? Or naked and give you clothing? 39 When did we ever see you sick or in prison and visit you?’

40 “And the King will say, ‘I tell you the truth, when you did it to one of the least of these my brothers and sisters, you were doing it to me!’

41 “Then the King will turn to those on the left and say, ‘Away with you, you cursed ones, into the eternal fire prepared for the devil and his demons. 42 For I was hungry, and you didn’t feed me. I was thirsty, and you didn’t give me a drink. 43 I was a stranger, and you didn’t invite me into your home. I was naked, and you didn’t give me clothing. I was sick and in prison, and you didn’t visit me.’

44 “Then they will reply, ‘Lord, when did we ever see you hungry or thirsty or a stranger or naked or sick or in prison, and not help you?’

45 “And he will answer, ‘I tell you the truth, when you refused to help the least of these my brothers and sisters, you were refusing to help me.’

46 “And they will go away into eternal punishment, but the righteous will go into eternal life.”

If we truly love others, we will take care of the weak and the poor. Are we doing unto others as we would have them do unto us? This is God’s plumb line of righteousness. This is what God uses to separate the sheep from the goats at the great white throne judgment. If we refuse to help the weak and poor it is a sign to us that the Holy Spirit is not guiding us, we are still following the lusts of the flesh, still holding the mark of the beast, still speaking his words.

Before we close, let’s take a look at when Jesus was accused of Blasphemy

NLT Matthew 9:1-7

1 Jesus climbed into a boat and went back across the lake to his own town. 2 Some people brought to him a paralyzed man on a mat. Seeing their faith, Jesus said to the paralyzed man, “Be encouraged, my child! Your sins are forgiven.”

3 But some of the teachers of religious law said to themselves, “That’s blasphemy! Does he think he’s God?”

4 Jesus knew what they were thinking, so he asked them, “Why do you have such evil thoughts in your hearts? 5 Is it easier to say ‘Your sins are forgiven,’ or ‘Stand up and walk’? 6 So I will prove to you that the Son of Man has the authority on earth to forgive sins.” Then Jesus turned to the paralyzed man and said, “Stand up, pick up your mat, and go home!”

7 And the man jumped up and went home! 8 Fear swept through the crowd as they saw this happen. And they praised God for sending a man with such great authority.

These folks presumed that only God can forgive sins so when Jesus told the paralyzed man his sins were forgiven, Jesus took the role of God. These men interpreted this as blasphemy! We too can presume to take on the role of the Holy Spirit, attempting to lead others into all truth. I believe that this is the most egregious form of blaspheming the Holy Spirit, but remember all of the counsel of God.

KJV 2 Tim 3: 16All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness: 17That the man of God may be perfect, thoroughly furnished unto all good works.

I want to close with David’s Plea For Forgiveness

NLT Ps 51:1 Have mercy on me, O God,

because of your unfailing love.

Because of your great compassion,

blot out the stain of my sins.

2 Wash me clean from my guilt.

Purify me from my sin.

3 For I recognize my rebellion;

it haunts me day and night.

4 Against you, and you alone, have I sinned;

I have done what is evil in your sight.

You will be proved right in what you say,

and your judgment against me is just.[a]

5 For I was born a sinner—

yes, from the moment my mother conceived me.

6 But you desire honesty from the womb,[b]

teaching me wisdom even there.

7 Purify me from my sins, and I will be clean;

wash me, and I will be whiter than snow.

8 Oh, give me back my joy again;

you have broken me—

now let me rejoice.

9 Don’t keep looking at my sins.

Remove the stain of my guilt.

10 Create in me a clean heart, O God.

Renew a loyal spirit within me.

11 Do not banish me from your presence,

and don’t take your Holy Spirit[d] from me.

12 Restore to me the joy of your salvation,

and make me willing to obey you.

13 Then I will teach your ways to rebels,

and they will return to you.

14 Forgive me for shedding blood, O God who saves;

then I will joyfully sing of your forgiveness.

15 Unseal my lips, O Lord,

that my mouth may praise you.

16 You do not desire a sacrifice, or I would offer one.

You do not want a burnt offering.

17 The sacrifice you desire is a broken spirit.

You will not reject a broken and repentant heart, O God.

18 Look with favor on Zion and help her;

rebuild the walls of Jerusalem.

19 Then you will be pleased with sacrifices offered in the right spirit—

with burnt offerings and whole burnt offerings.

Then bulls will again be sacrificed on your altar.

Amen

Glenn

All Articles

Being Disqualified, Committing The Unpardonable Sin.

Being Disqualified, Committing The Unpardonable Sin.

Being Disqualified, Committing The Unpardonable Sin.

Being Disqualified, Committing The Unpardonable Sin.


About this entry