God And Brake Pedal Slips

This is a either a crazy [perhaps absurd] coincidence or a God thing! In the last seven years I’ve had three very close encounters with “Brake Pedal Slips”. A “break pedal slip” occurs when a drivers foot slips off the brake pedal, and lands on the Gas. Usually the driver senses his foot movement and responds appropriately,   pulling his foot off the gas and pressing the brake.  Often enough the driver does not sense that his foot has slipped! This is a very dangerous situation.

When this driver sees his car going too fast he proceeds to press harder on what he still thinks is the brake. This usually forces the accelerator to the floor. The driver is now very confused. He knows something is terribly wrong. His car is lunging forward but he hasn’t yet properly diagnosed the problem. It typically takes between 1 and 2.5 seconds for most drivers to  respond correctly, to take their foot off the gas and get it back on the brake.  Just to give you some perspective here, stock cars typically accelerate at 3.5 mph/second.  At that acceleration rate, the car is going about almost 9 mph, and has moved 17 feet if the driver first presses the brake at the 2.5 second mark!! We need to allow another 3 – 6 feet to stop.

Why am I so familiar with this “brake pedal slip” situation? I’ve had three very close encounters. In the first I was severely injured; the second, a bad driving instructor; and the third, a close observer.

When I first heard about this ‘foot slipping off the brake’ problem I was stuck in an ICU bed. My motorcycle was just a few blocks from home when what looked like a parked car darted out in front of me and ran into a tree on the other side of the road. My motorcycle helmet laid a nice gash in the drivers door as he passed in front of me. The driver reported that he saw me coming and hit the brake, but the car kept lunging forward, a typical drivers experience during a brake pedal slip.

I still view the aftermath of this accident as a miracle. Three EMT trained responders just happened to be at the site and kept me alive by restoring my  breathing until the ambulance arrived! There are more details on this accident here: The Gift – A More Biblical Perspective.   My Story.

The second incident occurred as I was teaching my my younger daughter how to drive. We were pulling into a parking space, perhaps 5 – 7′ from completion. At that point I hear the engine race and feel the car lunging forward. We soon crash into a large concrete pole. I didn’t even have time to pull the center parking brake. There was some damage to the car bumper but the pole was undamaged and we were able to drive the car home.

The third incident occurred 5/1/11. It happened at Koko Head Park where we were gathering to worship God. A young, perhaps 25 year old driver was pulling his pick-up into a parking stall near our picnic table. We hear the truck engine revving[the gas pedal being floored] then the truck crushes through one fence and neary makes it through another.  The truck stopped about 15 feet from where we were sitting!

I am now looking back at this third situation, and asking God what he is trying to tell me. The first incident helped me to grasp the extent of the problems at Today’s Weak Churches. Before this incident I understood much about the impurity of our church systems, but I was trapped inside them. Soon after I realized that today’s clergy and their rule over the laity is not only un-biblical, it is the abomination that causes desecration! The abomination is already standing in the Holy place, where they should not stand! The Fall Of The Abomination. Today’s church is The Church Nourished From The Face Of The Serpent!!

The lesson that I have just received about this latest brake pedal slip is similar. Scoffers think that living Christian is just a lot of talk, but living Christian is living in the power of God!

NLT 1 Cor 4:18 Some of you have become arrogant, thinking I will not visit you again. 19 But I will come―and soon―if the Lord lets me, and then I’ll find out whether these arrogant people just give pretentious speeches or whether they really have God’s power. 20 For the Kingdom of God is not just a lot of talk; it is living by God’s power. 21 Which do you choose? Should I come with a rod to punish you, or should I come with love and a gentle spirit?

This passage warns us about arrogant people who give pretentious speeches but don’t live by God’s power. Paul is giving them this warning:

Don’t make me come back there!

The clear implication is that Paul will not allow this to go on. He will come back and clean this up himself if these assemblies can’t get this straightened out on their own. He threatens to come back with a rod to punish them!

I’m hearing that this is an example for me, perhaps for all of us. Even after we come out of today’s fallen church system we have to make sure that we are not among those who gives pretentious speeches but don’t live by the power of God. If we see any around us who have fallen into this trap of the devil, we need to warn them!

We can not fall back into the trap of being Presumer – Performers living by human effort. We need to rely fully on the power of God.

I used to think God was calling me to an uneasy truce and ignore these  these blind guides, but now I’m hearing the call to dis-empower them, to remove people from their Babylonian churches, to dry up the Euphrates, the river that feeds Babylon!

All God’s people need to ask: Am I living by the power of God?

The vast majority today have no idea what living by the power of God means. We have spent so much time with those who have been saying peace, peace, when there was no peace.    This passage in Ephesians helps us to understand this living by the power of God.

NLT Eph 3:6-13

6 And this is God’s plan: Both Gentiles and Jews who believe the Good News share equally in the riches inherited by God’s children. Both are part of the same body, and both enjoy the promise of blessings because they belong to Christ Jesus. 7 By God’s grace and mighty power, I have been given the privilege of serving him by spreading this Good News.

8 Though I am the least deserving of all God’s people, he graciously gave me the privilege of telling the Gentiles about the endless treasures available to them in Christ. 9 I was chosen to explain to everyone this mysterious plan that God, the Creator of all things, had kept secret from the beginning.

10 God’s purpose in all this was to use the church to display his wisdom in its rich variety to all the unseen rulers and authorities in the heavenly places. 11 This was his eternal plan, which he carried out through Christ Jesus our Lord.

12 Because of Christ and our faith in him, we can now come boldly and confidently into God’s presence. 13 So please don’t lose heart because of my trials here. I am suffering for you, so you should feel honored.

Paul’s Prayer for Spiritual Growth

14 When I think of all this, I fall to my knees and pray to the Father, 15 the Creator of everything in heaven and on earth. 16 I pray that from his glorious, unlimited resources he will empower you with inner strength through his Spirit. 17 Then Christ will make his home in your hearts as you trust in him. Your roots will grow down into God’s love and keep you strong. 18 And may you have the power to understand, as all God’s people should, how wide, how long, how high, and how deep his love is. 19 May you experience the love of Christ, though it is too great to understand fully. Then you will be made complete with all the fullness of life and power that comes from God.

20 Now all glory to God, who is able, through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we might ask or think. 21 Glory to him in the church and in Christ Jesus through all generations forever and ever! Amen.

Are you emboldened to come boldly and confidently into God’s presence , empowered with inner strength through his Spirit with Christ in our heart as you trust in him, allowing your roots will grow down into God’s love and keep you strong, understanding how wide, how long, how high, and how deep his love is, experiencing the love of Christ, though it is too great to understand fully. Only then will we be made complete with all the fullness of life and power that comes from God!

Let me close with two related passages. This Living by the power of God is not working in our own strength. It is humbly, obediently responding to God.

NLT Ps 44:4 You are my King and my God. You command victories for Israel. 5 Only by your power can we push back our enemies; only in your name can we trample our foes. 6 I do not trust in my bow; I do not count on my sword to save me. 7 You are the one who gives us victory over our enemies; you disgrace those who hate us. 8 O God, we give glory to you all day long and constantly praise your name.

Micah 4:13 says:

Rise up and crush the nations, O Jerusalem [true church - divine government]!”says the Lord.

For I will give you iron [strong authority;]horns[powers] and bronze hooves[members of Christ with fiery experiences],

so you can trample many nations to pieces.  You will present their stolen riches to the Lord ,their wealth to the Lord of all the earth.”

I think we are called to embrace this Power and strong authority that the Lord gives us, not using our own rod, but the Lord’s to trample these nations and then present their stolen riches to the Lord!!

Dear God,

Please continue to guide and protect us!  Turn us from ego and pride, from insecurity and doubt.  Hep us to really trust in, rely on, live in and cling to you, to your love, to your rod and your staff.  In Jesus mighty name we pray, Amen.

Glenn

Article List

God And Brake Pedal Slips

God And Brake Pedal Slips

God And Brake Pedal Slips

God And Brake Pedal Slips

About this entry